Let’s do the Culture Jam

Posted: August 11, 2010 in Culture Jam
Tags: , ,

We will wreck this world”.
— Kalle Lasn, in Culture Jam.

Culture Jam – sound familiar? It probably doesn’t… not in Australia anyway, but perhaps that’s a good thing!

I’m sure Australians’ would have at least seen some culture jams in their life time, but probably not aware of this. Take this for example, a spin on Absolut Vodka’s poster campaign:

Culture Jam

As you can see, Culture Jammers’ take an ad,  manipulate it using the same media channels, and embed a brand new meaning (usually about social, political, ethical and other issues) that are not publicized by that particular brand or corporation behind it. The Absolut Vodka example plays on the fact of excessive alcoholic drink (binge drinking) can have impotence affects on males… This is something that Absolut does not advertise at all. Culture jamming, however can be in a variety of forms in bumper stickers, texture drawings (over an existing poster), graphics, stencils… the list is endless. Yet, the mainstream channels are by subverting an advertisement, like above.

I picked up this term whilst living in North America last year; a country dominated by megalithic corporations and the constant desire to sell, sell, sell and buy, buy, buy! Definitely something not as driven in this country as when I see America – I see it as the centre of the world; where everyone is a part of the corporation chain.

This term, and exposure to a world I never knew has opened my eyes about consumerism, capitalism and the fetishism placed on commodities from Advertisers and makes me question media channels and messages corporations (especially) send to the mass audience.

so many messages, not enough time

So many messages, not enough time.

Culture jamming is a method anti-consumerism activists have adopted as a means of “breaking through” the media clutter. On average, the Australian consumer sees around 3,000 advertisements a day.  These include visible and hidden logos, posters, billboards, street media, shopping centre media, and print/radio/television ads; and not to forget to mention thanks to the internet, banner ads and spam mail.

This figure is the exact as the average American consumer, with the addition of global corporations spend over $620 billion each year to make their products seem desirable and get them to buy.

From my experience, in American society, advertisements heavily consume their everyday lives. It constantly tells them how to look, how to act, and most importantly, how to think. This is something not experienced to the extent in Australia, and was a huge culture shock to myself.

The best way to approach this topic is to position myself as if I was still on the other side of the world. We see America as a consumer-driven society saturated in advertisement… how does the opposition or public make its voice heard?   This is, essentially, where culture jamming comes in play.   In order to dissent against America’s obsession with buying and spending, culture jamming enlists the aid of prominent symbols with pre-existing meanings/emotions attached, called memes (i.e.: a red octagon means stop, Nike swoosh).  Through the utilization of these commonly understood symbols, culture jammers turn their meanings against itself to address the larger concern of consumption and its indications.

This blog aims to approach the way media consumes our daily lives, and the controlling affects it can have to objectify a product or brand with the search for ‘perfection’. It also aims to find out why this isn’t a common term in Australia, and if this is in fact, a good thing or not.

Comments
  1. biancaagius says:

    looks great Ash… like your topic too!

  2. Thanks Bianca. I thought it would be a great topic to research more into – seeing as we don’t really have things like this in Australia. It’s very interesting to me.

  3. gblog86 says:

    Very interesting and timely topic Ashleigh.

    It reminds me of the Nike subverted ad highlighting the slave labour aspect featuring the Nike slash, and also it reminded me of the fold-out sections on the back of Mad magazines!

    I always thought of Australia as being awash by Advertising and consumerism as well, in what ways is America more subjected to it?

    Grish

  4. That is exactly what I want to find out Grish! It was something I noticed straight away when I lived in Canada last year. Everyone was concerned with what brand they wore, how they looked; what they had on influenced how they wanted to be perceived. I didn’t get it – definitely was not something (well to the extent) I’ve experienced in Australia growing up. I thought Australian teenage girls were bad about owning the best brands, but when I took a step in North America – the life I once knew was nothing compared to what I witnessed. This is what I want to find out why – why the desire for seek perfection is stronger on the other side of the world. Perhaps because major corporations are head quartered over there and need to push their products in their ‘home country’ to thrive? Or they have larger advertising budgets (for a larger landscape)… who knows. This is what I want to find out.

    All I know, is by being exposed to a lifestyle in North America has changed my perception about advertising and the heavily consumerist culture that is rewarded with flashy lights and high status social cliques.

    Before then, I had no idea about culture jammers and what they did. Nor could see anyone (or know of anyone) in Australia who participated in this form of communications.

    It makes me think, even though North Americans’ are obsessively fed with the constant need to buy, it’s a small collection of them who are reacting back to these types of advertisements. Yet another thing I aim to uncover more about…

  5. Hey Ash,

    It is interesting that the term Culture Jammers is adopted. In some ways it makes me question whether it accredits brands and advertising with greater importance/influence than they actually have (and in turn gives . It will be really interesting to see how the blog unfolds Ash!

    Nick

  6. Seems very interesting. Can’t wait to hear more!

  7. Bryan says:

    This topic is awesome, Ash! Since the beginning of my political awareness at age 10, I’ve heard people debate the pros and cons of subjecting ourselves to thousands upon thousands of commercial images. Of course back then it mostly went over my head as I focused on seemingly more important things (like adding the newest board game to my holiday wish list). Like many North American children I was probably using adverts along with popular culture to define my awareness. But like all selling methods, I figure such advertising is only as powerful as we let it be. Adults theoretically have the ability to discern what is worthy of their money and what is not. That means, Nick, the most effective Culture Jams are those that play on already established meme plagues, those spread throughout popular culture from one consumer to other. And I wonder if that makes children all the more susceptible, being conduits for such memes absorption.

  8. Liz says:

    Great blog Smash!
    Very interesting topic!

  9. Thanks all for your comments and interest in this. It’s quite a fascinating topic that I think deserves more attention.

    Nick – Good question. I think it can go both ways – as by changing an existing add you’re essentially defacing it, but as result it brings attention to the original ad – but with the added new meaning from the jammer. This could be either swing for or against the company, depending on what’s being advertised and the quality/credibility of the jam. Something I will definitely look into.

    Bryan – Couldn’t have put it any more perfect itself. I see where you’re going, but I still think that advertising does come into play when making decisions. Just look at any magazine – it’s telling women to be gorgeous unrealistic size 8, when the average female size is 12. It’s things like this where I see advertising as a misleading and even, damaging to certain female groups. But I do agree how the most effective Jams are ones that play on established memes so it can be universally understood and bring a particular message to light that targets the company advertising.

    And finally, I would also add the “general/majority” of public are like sponges. They’ll absorb anything that comes their way, and it’s until movements like Culture Jammers that provide a different perspective and get this public to think from a different angle.

    • tldrkhnsm says:

      Hey Ash. Just happened upon your blog. Très intéressant! As a Canadian, I think it’s vitally important to subvert popular narratives and culture jamming is one way to accomplish this. Having said this, I’d like to throw something out there for consideration. As a Black guy, I see little out there that affirms who I am and I wonder if you’ve turned your mind to the ill-effects on those outside the norm…especially kids of colour?

  10. akochARW says:

    Love your comments and I couldn’t agree more! And I love the pictures too!! I think they demonstrate your arguments very well and you’ve analysed each successfully.

  11. […] gblog86 on Mac 1 – Ashleigh 0gblog86 on A picture is worth…akochARW on Let’s do the Culture…alittlegreenproject on A picture is worth…ashleighjsmith on Since when are your eyes […]

  12. […] Let’s do the Culture Jam August 2010 11 comments 3 […]

  13. Thanks for your comment tldrkhnsm! Greetings from Australia!

    First of all, I strongly believe people should embrace their heritage and be proud of their cultures. I know mainstream media shamefully neglects minorities, and there’s no 100% answer why.

    I know, that I’ve just begun a wonderful job where we’ve run global campaigns ‘against the norm’ and had people of colour (esp a black person) as spokespeople and the face of a product.

    Lucky for me however, I have been brought up in a multicultural country so it’s not that strange to see a coloured face on a billboard.

    It is disheartening however that the effects of such strong mainstream promotion of caucasian or european looks can have a negative effect on a young multicultural audience. I would say it’s the advertisers fault about this and what they want to promote as social norms yet they don’t realise that through each generation, more cultures mix with others, so who are we or they to say what is normal any more? When the norm clearly doesn’t exist anymore.

  14. http://fastingforweightloss.net says:

    This site is my inhalation, very wonderful layout and Perfect written content.

Leave a comment