Mac 1 – Ashleigh 0

Posted: August 22, 2010 in Advertising, Australian consumer culture, Identity
Tags: , , ,

We grow up living in an environment that appears natural to us – it’s something we’re used to so we don’t question a thing. I am talking about the existence of advertising that constantly shows us the way, what product to be interested in, what to buy and where to buy it through its permanent residence in our mind/world. It feeds us what information “we need to know” to pay attention and result with an action; usually a purchase. This is marketing and advertising, and of course us (Communication students) are now aware of this and the certain processes and models each product campaign follows to succeed.

Fast forward the latest phone and a mp3 player later, and we come to realize “was this my choice, do I really need that?” . I admit, for several years I was anti Apple/Mac (Dave can actually vouch for this!), then all of a sudden when my whole environment was saturated with cool images and features of iPods and iPhones, something sparked off inside me that made me yearn to have ownership of such a senseless product that I had despised earlier.  What made me impulsively change my mind?

Now even though I love my iPhone as much as my iPod, I think strategically it comes down to the driving advertisements, especially on my television saying “I’m a Mac (cool) and I’m a PC (not cool)”. Where I will confess, I was embarrassed to even be associated with a ugly, heavy, suit nerd. This shows the power [Mac] advertising had on my brain and the perceptions it helped create against brands. Mac 1 – Ashleigh 0. I am a victim of media consumption that filled my empty void with a product that made me happy.

Comments
  1. gblog86 says:

    Can consumers have power by only choosing to purchase what we enjoy and exploiting it to our own ends, or do companies have underlying influences in what we THINK we enjoy?

    I say this because I was a fairly anti-Apple person too until I purchased my iPhone and am loving the features. I did not buy it for the ads but perhaps I was tricked by the allure of having a ‘tech-savvy, cool’ phone. However I do use it frequently, and enjoy the apps.

    My computer is a PC, I never had a Mac and do not want one- the Mac-Pc ads actually made me biased against Macs more because they are one-sided- they don’t mention the great features you get with an IBM-Microsoft machine.

    If I only purchase what I enjoy and ignore what I won’t enjoy in the long term, am I resisting being exploited? Or am I kidding myself thinking I have that much power over my purchasing decisions in this marketed world?

    Grish

  2. Dont worry Ash, I am too a Mac victim. Don’t get me wrong, I am happy all the advertising and marketing worked on me (plus the peer pressure from certain individuals *hint Dave*). I love my Mac, in the past two years I’ve had my MacBook I have not had one single problem! Prior to this I was in a constant love hate relationship with my PC, then thankfully my MacBook came and swept me off my feet. It was truly love at first sight. After my MacBook purchase, my Apple family has grown. I have an iPod, iPhone, MacBook, Apple TV and I have most recently convinced my parents to get an iMac for themselves and a MacBook for my younger sister. Our house is full of Apples!

    I guess what really works for Apple is the combination of a fantastic products and fantastic marketing/advertising. It really is a winning combination. I believe it is this reason why they have such a loyal consumer following, they know what us users want and the always deliver. And as corny as it sounds, now when I see those Apple ad’s I feel some what patriotic. Just goes to show you the power of integrated marketing communication.

    Once you go Mac you don’t go back!

  3. […] To tackle the first point, we’re surrounded by thousands of ads each day – some we realise, some we don’t – there is such a heavy emphasis on ads it’s insane with billions of dollars being spent each year. It’s with this constant feed of products of companies trying to sell a product; it’s features and benefits and how you as a consumer fit into this ideal. Ads hook us in, and its hard to find a way out since our humanistic ways naturally tell us to takes things in, rather than question the masses. Companies fight for all of our ‘mindshare’ – they want a slice of their product/brand to be a permanent mark on your brain. Once it’s there, it’s hard to remove or replace which is a shocking thing to picture. I am a victim of this so called ‘mind share’ with Apple/Mac just one of the examples I highlight… […]

  4. […] Final Thoughts … on Informed or idiot consume…Final Thoughts … on Mac 1 – Ashleigh 0Final Thoughts … on Informed or idiot consume…biancaagius on Gucci; destroying […]

Leave a comment